FAQ - Private Water Supplies

General Information

What percentage of Canadians rely on private water supplies?
An estimated 25% percent of Canadians, living primarily in rural areas, rely on private wells, cisterns or other sources for their drinking water. It must be emphasized that these individuals have the sole responsibility for ensuring the safety of their water supply. The most important concern for safe water in these systems is microbiological safety since the presence of a microbiological risk can and will have an immediate acute effect on those who consume the water. Chemical contamination problems do occur and frequently while of concern, the condition is not normally of an acute health concern. Exceptions may be when there is a chemical transport accident in the vicinity, or there is or has been excessive or inappropriate use of fertilizers or pesticides.

Back to top

Maintaining Your Well

What can be done to protect the quality of well water?
Action for ensuring the microbiological safety of well water is paramount and comes down to frequent testing and adequate well-head protection. It is recommended that water be tested regularly for bacteriological quality, and be further tested for chemical contamination if that is suspected. Any changes in clarity, colour, odour or taste can indicate chemical contamination, and tests should be carried out if this occurs. Depending on the province, bacteriological testing of well water is done either by the provincial health laboratory or by certified private laboratories, but at the owners expenses. All new wells are required to be tested, retesting is left up to the owner. Tests for chemical contamination are normally referred to private laboratories, although some provinces will analyze water for nitrates. The Environmental Health Division of the local Health Unit is able to supply information on possible contaminants which are known to be found in local wells or water supplies, and will help interpret results of chemical and bacteriological tests.
How do wells become contaminated?
Groundwater can become contaminated in several ways:
Geologic formations may remove some contaminants. For example, metals like lead and mercury can become attached to soil particles. Nitrate levels can be reduced in the aquifer through denitrification.
The likelihood that groundwater could become contaminated depends on: the size or strength of the contamination source; the ease with which the contaminant can move into or travel through the soil Contaminants move most easily through coarse-textured soils (sand and gravel) and fractured bedrock. But even clay soils can have fractures that allow the movement of contaminants. Once contaminants have reached an aquifer, they are difficult and expensive to remove. High levels of a contaminant in an aquifer can make the water unfit and unsafe to use.
Where can I get more information on groundwater and well testing in my province?
The provinces have labs to which you can take water to be tested for more information on this service in your province. Follow the hyperlink for groundwater testing information in your province:
What do I do if my water tests positive for microbiological contamination?
Well water should be tested regularly for bacterial contamination and laboratories will measure both the total coliform levels and test for E.coli. The presence of coliform could indicate that the water has been contaminated by fecal matter. The presence of E. coli indicates that water is contaminated by fecal matter. Drinking water should contain no more than 10 total coliform bacteria per 100 mL of water, and absolutely no E.coli. If well water exceeds these parameters the water should be "shock treated," and if possible the source of the contamination found and eliminated. Shock treatment involves adding normal unscented household bleach to the well water, the amount of bleach added depends on the depth and diameter of the well. In some cases this treatment may be sufficient to eliminate the problem. However, if it does not, a disinfection device can be installed. A disinfection device should not be used as a replacement for a safe water supply. If the water supply is chronically contaminated by fecal material, a new water supply must be found. Disinfection devices are not commonly used by well owners - most assume, once the well has been approved for use that their water will remain safe.

Back to top

Water Treatment Units

What disinfection devices areavailable for private water supplies?
These fall into two types: those that use chemical disinfectants and those which use Ultra Violet (UV) light. They are most important for persons being supplied from rural private well systems.
Chemical disinfection devices introduce disinfectant chemicals into the incoming water. Ideally this should take place before any storage tank system, so as to provide a residency time that allows the disinfectant to work. The disadvantage of this system is that it will also introduces an odour and taste effect to the water, which some consumers find objectionable. These devices may have control systems on them that can shut down the water supply system if the chemical source has been exhausted and the disinfection process stopped. There are two principal chemical disinfectants chlorination and ozonation.
What is chlorination and how does it work?
Chlorination destroys disease-causing bacteria, nuisance bacteria, parasites and other organisms. It also removes soluble iron, manganese and hydrogen sulfide from water. One of the main advantages to chlorination is that it is a proven technology, and chlorine provides residual protection which can protect against re contamination. Devices which continuously chlorinate a home’s water supply are available, these use an injector to introduce chlorine into the system, water must be in contact with chlorine for 15 minutes to completely kill all bacteria Chlorine must be maintained at a level at which it can be tasted in water to ensure disinfection. Further treatment is often undergone in order to remove particulate matter and to de-chlorinate the water immediately before drinking using carbon filters to remove the taste and odour effects.
What is ozonation and how does it work?
In these units ozone is produced by a generator and pumped through the water to be treated, it oxidizes contaminants and is effective in removing bacteria and microorganisms. Ozone units may also remove other contaminants like organic pesticides. Additional filtration is needed to remove parasites and particulate matter. It offers some residual protection against re-contamination, but this effect is short-lived. This technology is easy to install and maintain. However, it can be expensive, and the unit must be properly maintained to shield against excess ozone escaping, and to maintain the necessary mixing ratio of ozone to water.
What is ultraviolet disinfection and how does it work
Ultraviolet light treatment uses ultraviolet light to disinfect water or reduce the amount of heterotrophic (non-harmful) bacteria. This method uses no chemicals, and produces no taste or odour. It takes only a few seconds of exposure to disinfect the water, is easy to install and relatively inexpensive. However, it is effective in ensuring only the microbiological safety of the water, and further treatment is needed to remove any parasites and other contaminants. The device is installed so that water passes around the UV light which is illuminated only when the water is flowing through the system. A high intensity light disinfects the water as it passes around the light source. If the water is not clear, the turbidity or dissolved solids in the water may form on the surface of the UV light source, slowly diminishing the effectiveness of the process. Again, modern devices have a fail safe, shut off switch which prevents water from flowing through a non-functioning device. The advantage of UV light systems is that they do not affect the taste or odour of the water, although they are more costly to purchase and operate.
How can I treat the taste odour or appearance of my water?
The appearance, taste and smell of drinking water is usually more obvious to the consumer than the bacterial quality. Chemicals such as iron, manganese, calcium hardness and sulphide, often common in private water supplies, can impart disagreeable taste and odours. These problems pose no threat to human health, and the water is safe to drink without further treatment, however, there are devices available to correct these problems, but they do not disinfect, and in some cases can accumulate any existing bacterial contamination. Below are specific devices commonly used in rural settings. These treatment devices should only be used in water that is already microbiologically secure. Before any treatment device is purchased, the water should be tested, to ensure that the best and most economic treatment is selected.
What is hard water and how do you treat it?
Groundwater dissolves rocks and minerals releasing calcium and magnesium ions that cause water to be hard. Hard water can leave scales or deposits in kettles and water heaters and inhibits the performance of soaps, shampoo and detergents. Softening water makes it more suitable for washing and prevents deposits in appliances and pipes. Water softeners work by exchanging the unwanted calcium ions with sodium or potassium and do so using special resins. All softeners need to be recharged on a regular basis (depending on their capacity and the volume of water softened. The recharge water is discharged into the sewer line if it is attached to municipal supply system or into a sceptic tank if attached to a well water supply. The water produced with a sodium exchange system is not generally recommended for drinking or cooking due to its increased sodium content. Both the sodium and the potassium softeners decrease essential mineral content and have the potential of bacterial growth. Softened water is also not recommended for watering house plants, lawns and gardens due to its sodium or potassium content. Wastewater from the softener recharging cycle is not believed to overload or reduce the effectiveness of small septic systems, but there have been examples of the leachate re-entering the groundwater source for the well, thus increasing the sodium and calcium content of the source water. Sodium free water conditioners are available that claim to remove calcium by either catalytic bars or magnetic means. However the effectiveness of either of these methods is questionable and it is the position of the Canadian Water Quality Association (CWQA) that they do not work.

Back to top

Well Drilling

Who governs well drilling?
Most provinces and territories have regulations governing the construction of water wells. Such regulations set out minimum construction standards for all types. The main purpose of the standards is to keep surface water and foreign matter out of wells and aquifers. Regulations cover:
Location plays an important role when planning a new well or upgrading an existing one. Well locations need to meet the minimum separation distances specified by your local provincial or state regulations. Greater separation distances should be allowed wherever possible. Most provinces have regulations that make requirements regarding the minimum separation distance between wells and potential contamination sources. For specific requirements in your province search the legislation database.

Back to top

FAQ - Approvisionnement en eau privé

Informations Générales

Quel pourcentage de Canadiens dépend des approvisionnements en eau privé?

On estime que 25% des Canadiens, habitant principalement dans des zones rurales, dépendent de puits, citernes et autres sources privées d’eau potable. Ces individus ont l’entière responsabilité d’assurer la sûreté de leur approvisionnement en eau. La plus grande préoccupation, pour préserver une eau saine dans ces réseaux, est la sécurité microbiologique surtout puisque la présence de risques microbiologiques peut avoir et aurait un effet grave et immédiat sur les personnes consommant cette eau. Bien que toutes les préoccupations se portent sur des problèmes de pollution chimique qui arrivent vraiment et fréquemment, ils ne représentent normalement pas un grave problème pour la santé humaine. Des exceptions existent comme lors d’un accident de transport chimique dans le voisinage ou lors d’un usage excessif ou inapproprié d’engrais ou de pesticides.

Retour au haut de la page

Entretenir votre puits

Que peut-on faire pour protéger la qualité du puits d’eau?

Agir pour assurer la sécurité microbiologique du puits d’eau est primordial. Des tests fréquents et une protection adéquate de la tête du puits permettent de réduire les risques. Il est recommandé que l’eau soit régulièrement testée sur sa qualité bactériologique. L’eau qui est suspectée de contamination chimique doit subir des tests plus approfondis. Tout changement de clarté, couleur, odeur ou de goût peut indiquer une contamination chimique et des tests doivent être effectués lorsque cela arrive. Selon la province, les tests bactériologiques dans les puits d’eau sont faits soit par le laboratoire provincial de la santé soit par des laboratoires privés accrédités mais aux frais du propriétaire. Tous les nouveaux puits doivent être testés, voir retestés à la discrétion du propriétaire. Bien que quelques provinces analysent les nitrates dans l’eau, les tests pour les contaminations chimiques sont normalement attribués aux laboratoires privés. La Division de la santé environnementale de l’Unité de santé locale peut fournir des informations sur de possibles contaminations qui sont connues pour être trouvées dans les puits locaux ou dans les approvisionnements en eau. Elle peut aussi aider à interpréter les résultats des tests chimiques et bactériologiques.

Comment des puits peuvent-ils être contaminés?

Les eaux souterraines peuvent-être polluées de plusieurs manières par:

Des formations géologiques peuvent éliminer certains polluants. Par exemple, les métaux comme le plomb et le mercure peuvent s’attacher aux particules du sol. Des taux de nitrates peuvent être réduits dans les aquifères par dénitrification.

La probabilité pour que les eaux souterraines soit polluées dépend de : la taille ou de la force de la source de contamination; la facilité avec laquelle le polluant puisse se déverser ou infiltrer le sol. Les polluants infiltrent plus facilement les sols à grosse texture (sable et gravier) et les sols rocheux fracturés. Même les sols en argile peuvent avoir des fractures qui permettent l’infiltration de polluants. Une fois que les polluants ont atteint un aquifère, il est difficile et dispendieux de les éliminer. De forts taux de polluants dans un aquifère peut rendre l’eau non saine et non potable.

Où puis-je obtenir plus d’informations sur les eaux souterraines et sur les tests pour les puits dans ma province?

Les provinces ont des laboratoires où vous pouvez apporter de l’eau de votre puits pour être testée. Pour plus d’informations sur ce service dans votre province cliquez sur les liens Internet :

Que dois-je faire si mon test de contamination microbiologique est positif ?

Le puits d’eau devrait être testés régulièrement pour la contamination bactérienne. Les laboratoires analysent les taux de coliforme et testent l’eau pour l’E.coli. La présence de coliformes peut indiquer une contamination de l’eau par de la matière fécale. L’eau potable ne doit pas contenir un total de coliformes de plus de 10 bactéries pour 100 ml d’eau, et absolument aucun E.coli ne doit être présent. Si l’eau du puits dépasse ces paramètres, l’eau doit subir un « traitement de choc » et si possible trouver la source de contamination et l’éliminer. Le traitement de choc implique l’ajout d’une javel non odorante normale de ménage dans l’eau du puits. La quantité de javel ajoutée dépend de la profondeur et du diamètre du puits. Parfois ce traitement suffit pour éliminer le problème. Cependant, dans le cas contraire, un appareil de désinfection doit être installé. Un appareil de désinfection ne doit pas être utilisé comme une alternative pour un approvisionnement d’eau saine. Si l’approvisionnement en eau est chroniquement contaminé par des matières fécales, un nouvel approvisionnement en eau doit être trouvé. Les appareils de désinfection ne sont pas communément utilisés par les propriétaires de puits – et l’on suppose qu’une fois que le puits est approuvé à l’usage et lorsque leur eau est redevenue saine, les appareils ne sont plus utilisés.

Retour au haut de la page

Unités de traitement de l’eau

Quels appareils de désinfection sont disponibles pour les approvisionnements en eau privé?

Seul deux types d’appareils sont disponibles : ceux qui utilisent des désinfectants chimiques et ceux qui utilisent le rayonnement Ultraviolet (UV). Ce sont les deux plus importants appareils utilisés par les personnes qui sont approvisionnées par des réseaux ruraux et privés de puits.

Les appareils de désinfection chimique introduisent des produits chimiques désinfectants dans l’eau qui arrive. Idéalement ces produits chimiques doivent être introduits en amont de tout réservoir de stockage pour ainsi fournir un temps de résidence qui permet au désinfectant d’agir. L’inconvénient de ce système est qu’il donne aussi une odeur et un goût à l’eau que certains consommateurs trouvent désagréables. Ces appareils peuvent contenir des systèmes de contrôle qui peuvent arrêter le réseau d’approvisionnement en eau si la source de produit chimique est épuisée. Le processus de désinfection est alors arrêté. La chloration et l’ozonation sont les deux principaux produits chimiques désinfectants.  

Qu’est-ce que la chloration et comment ça marche?

La chloration élimine les bactéries responsables de maladies, les bactéries nuisibles, les parasites et d’autres organismes. Elle élimine aussi le fer soluble, le manganèse et le sulfure hydrogène dans l’eau. L’un des plus grand avantages de la chloration est que cette technologie est d’une efficacité prouvée et que le chlore fournit une protection résiduelle qui peut protéger contre une nouvelle contamination. Des appareils qui chlorent continuellement les approvisionnements en eau de la maison sont disponibles. Ils utilisent un injecteur pour introduire le chlore dans le réseau et l’eau doit être en contact du chlore pendant 15 minutes pour éliminer toutes les bactéries. Pour assurer la désinfection, le chlore doit être maintenu à un niveau permettant de le sentir dans l’eau. Un traitement supplémentaire est souvent requis pour éliminer les particules inhalables et pour déchlorer l’eau immédiatement avant de la boire. Il faut utiliser des filtres de carbone pour éliminer les impressions de goût et d’odeur.

Qu’est-ce que l’ozonation et comment ça marche?

Dans ces unités l’ozone est produit par un générateur et est pompé dans l’eau pour la traiter. Cela oxyde les polluants et est efficace pour l’élimination de bactéries et de microorganismes. Les unités d’ozone peuvent aussi éliminer d’autres polluants comme des pesticides organiques. Une filtration supplémentaire est nécessaire pour éliminer des parasites et des particules inhalables. La filtration offre une légère protection résiduelle contre une nouvelle contamination mais l’effet est de courte durée. Cette technologie est facile à installer et à entretenir. Cependant, elle peut être dispendieuse et l’unité doit être entretenue correctement pour lutter contre toute fuite excessive d’ozone et pour maintenir la nécessaire proportion de mélange d’ozone et d’eau.

Qu’est-ce que la désinfection à ultraviolet et comment ça marche?

Le traitement à ultraviolet utilise le rayonnement ultraviolet pour désinfecter l’eau ou pour réduire la quantité de bactéries (non-nuisibles) hétérotrophes. Cette technique n’utilise aucun produit chimique et ne crée pas de goût et d’odeur. Quelques secondes d’exposition suffisent pour désinfecter l’eau et la désinfection à ultraviolet est facile à installer et relativement peu dispendieuse. Cependant, elle est seulement efficace pour assurer la sécurité microbiologique de l’eau. Des traitements supplémentaires sont requis pour éliminer tout parasite et autres polluants. L’appareil est installé pour que l’eau passe à travers le rayonnement ultraviolet qui s’illumine seulement lorsque l’eau coule par le système. Une forte intensité de rayonnement désinfecte l’eau qui passe à travers la source d’ultraviolet. Si l’eau n’est pas claire, la turbidité ou les solides dissous dans l’eau peuvent se former à la surface de la source de rayonnement des ultraviolets, diminuant ainsi lentement l’efficacité du processus. Aujourd’hui, des appareils modernes ont un système de sécurité qui coupe l’eau et qui l’empêche ainsi de s’écouler dans un appareil hors fonction. L’avantage des systèmes de rayonnement ultraviolet est qu’ils n’affectent pas le goût ou l’odeur de l’eau, bien qu’ils soient plus dispendieux à l’achat et au fonctionnement.

 Comment puis-je traiter l’odeur ou l’aspect de mon eau ?

L’aspect, le goût et l’odeur de l’eau potable sont habituellement plus évident pour le consommateur que la qualité bactériologique. Les produits chimiques tels que le fer, le manganèse, la dureté du calcium et le sulfure sont souvent présents dans les approvisionnements en eau privé et peuvent transmettre un goût et des odeurs désagréables. Ces problèmes ne représentent aucune menace pour la santé humaine. Cependant des appareils sont disponibles pour résoudre ces problèmes mais ils ne désinfectent pas et dans certains cas ils peuvent accumuler n’importe quelle contamination bactériologique existante. Il existe des appareils spécifiques communément utilisés dans les réglages ruraux. Ces appareils de traitement doivent uniquement être utilisés dans l’eau qui est déjà microbiologiquement sûre. Avant l’achat de n’importe quel appareil de traitement, l’eau doit être testée pour s’assurer que le meilleur et le plus économique des traitements soit choisi.

Qu’est-ce que la dureté de l’eau et comment y remédier?

La dureté de l’eau est causée par l’eau souterraine qui dissout des roches et des minéraux relâchant ainsi des ions de calcium et de magnésium. La dureté de l’eau peut laisser du tartre ou des dépôts dans les bouilloires et chauffe-eaux et empêcher l’efficacité des savons, shampoings et détergents. Les adoucisseurs d’eau rendent l’eau plus adéquate pour laver et empêcher des dépôts dans les appareils et les conduits. Les adoucisseurs d’eau fonctionnent en échangeant les ions de calciums ou de potassiums indésirables pour en faire des résines spéciales utilisables. Tous les adoucisseurs ont besoin d’être rechargés sur une base régulière (selon leur capacité et le volume d’eau à adoucir). L’eau rechargée est déversée dans les canalisations d’égouts si l’adoucisseur est rattaché au réseau municipal d’approvisionnement ou dans une fosse septique s’il est relié à un puits d’approvisionnement en eau. L’eau produite par le système d’échange de sodium n’est généralement pas recommandé pour boire ou cuisiner à cause de son contenu accru en sodium. Tant les adoucisseurs de sodium que de potassium baissent la teneur en minéraux essentiels et peuvent potentiellement accroître les bactéries. L’usage des adoucisseurs d’eau ne sont pas recommandés pour arroser les plantes d’intérieures, les pelouses et les jardins à cause de leur contenu en sodium ou en potassium. Il n’est pas admis que les aux eaux usées des cycles de rechargement des adoucisseurs surchargent ou réduisent l’efficacité des petits réseaux septiques, mais il existe des exemples de lixiviat rentrant dans les sources d’eaux souterraines des puits et augmentant ainsi le contenu en sodium et en calcium de la source d’eau. Il existe des appareils enlevant le sodium des eaux qui affirment éliminer le calcium soit par des barres catalytiques soit par des moyens magnétiques. Cependant, l’efficacité de ces appareils est discutable et selon la Canadian Water Quality Association (CWQA) ils ne fonctionnent pas.

Retour au haut de la page

Forage de puits

 Qui contrôle les forages de puits?

La plupart des provinces et territoires ont des règlements sur la construction de puits à eau. De tels règlements établissent les normes minimales de construction pour tous les types de puits. Le but principal de ces règles est de garder l’eau de surface et les matières étrangères hors des puits et des aquifères. Les règlements couvrent :

La localisation joue un rôle primordial lors de la planification d’un nouveau puits ou lors de la rénovation d’un puits existant. Les emplacements des puits doivent respecter les distances minimales de séparation indiquées selon vos règlements locaux, provinciaux ou fédéraux. Des distances de séparation plus grandes devraient être permises partout où cela est possible. La plupart des provinces ont des règlements qui établissent des obligations par rapport à la distance minimum de séparation entre les puits et les sources de pollution potentielles. Pour connaître les obligations spécifiques de votre province faites des recherches sur la base de données des législations.

Retour au haut de la page